And If Travel Is Like Love…

“And if travel is like love, it is, in the end, mostly because it is a heightened state of awareness, in which we are mindful receptive, undimmed by familiarity and ready to be transferred. This is why the best trips, like the best love affairs never really end.”  – Picer Lyer

Hello #Wanderlisters. This week’s quote on the #TheWanderlist has got me daydreaming. Picer Lyer captures everything I tried to communicate in the first post I ever wrote on The Wanderlist. Lyer highlights the parallel in experiences between being in love and travelling the world, and the emotions and personal growth that evolve from them. So often, people move through their days robotically: usually because they’ve put too much on their plate or have learned to take things for granted.

I’m not suggesting you strive to never take things for granted. We’re all human and we all fall short of the ideal sometimes. But, when we’re numbed by routine, it can be easy to forget about the moments that make us feel the most alive.

Travelling is taking a hiatus from the regular: each day is unlike the next. When I was backpacking this year, each of the 118 days I was gone I would wake up each morning without being able predict how the day would pan out. As a Canadian prairie girl, seeing things through fresh eyes is what kept me “undimmed by familiarity”. Whether it was seeing the Big Dipper upside down from Spain or eating frog legs, the novelty of new things is the fuel to my daydreams. Daydreams that leave me feeling like my backpacking adventure trip has yet to end.

Love is similar in the sense that it awakens the soul. I don’t mean to get all mushy and deep on you, I have a tendency to be a sucker for the softer things in life. During times when stress is high and the pressure is on, making sense out of what makes us vulnerable helps to soothe the stress a little.

To me, love is what we come home to at the end of the day. The people we love and who love us back bring us back to the surface when we feel as if we’re drowning. Like I am now — in homework.

Thoughts

