A Journey: Sweet, Sweet Section 1

That’s a wrap, CreCommers. We are officially finished  1/4 of our time here in CreComm. At home, you have a support system to keep you grounded, bring you up when you’re down, and to laugh with. A support system is family, and this is my school family. Just like my parents and my brother, I didn’t get to choose the people I ended up with at school. But, it feels like I did.

The 18 people I had the privilege of spending all day, every day with for the last three and a half months are the people who understood and kept me inspired and motivated throughout the semester.

From yoga at The Cube, to superhero silent films, to auto-fails, to two-hour night sleeps, to group hugs, the power of positivity I have experienced in section 1 is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. The way our section came together and kept eachother going made all of the difference. And yes, I know that is an overstatement, but it’s true.

If there is one thing I have learned this semester (besides improving my writing), it’s that positivity is powerful. It makes all the difference when you have people who understand the reality of handing assignments in not a single second late (literally), auto-fails, and why CreComm’s demanding schedule has prevented you from spending time with your outside-of-school friends for months.

I can’t recall a time since September when one of these talented and creative faces wasn’t ready to take on the day together, whether it was learning to embrace the auto-fail or spending 9 straight hours at the King’s Head Pub on Friday after school.

One of my favourite quotes sums up our first semester perfectly.

“It is important to have an end to journey towards, but it is the journey that counts, in the end.”

We’ve made it over the first hill. But what really matters is how we got here.

So section 1, I am lucky to have been able to share the pride, successes, and tears in CreComm with you guys. It’s a total cliché, but I mean it when I say I don’t think I could have hoped for a more supportive and positive group. We did it — together.

One thought on “A Journey: Sweet, Sweet Section 1

Thoughts

