Take 20

Take 20, take 10. If you don’t have time, try to take five.

It’s easy to not make time for ourselves. There’s deadlines, appointments, calls to make, friends to keep up with, laundry to fold, and sometimes, under the pressure to tick off the to-do list, we forget to put ourselves as priority #1.

Yesterday, I did yoga for the first time in almost two months. I’ve been so caught up in school assignments that I haven’t made time for other things like going out with friends or even making a meal. The time away from my yoga mat was obvious; I was wobbly and I couldn’t hold poses for as long as I know I can.

For those of you who have never been to a yoga class, each class begins and ends with savasana — a lying down yoga pose that promotes mindful breathing and the unison between mind and body. I’ve been to lots of yoga classes where the instructor starts by talking about how challenging savasana can be; to constantly bring your mind back to the present moment over and over while you fight the urge to think about anything else is hard.

I never used to understand why some people found savasana hard. I get to lie down and have a nap before I exercise — great. It wasn’t until school made my life a hell of a lot busier and harder to manage that I truly understood the challenges and the rewards of blocking out the noise and treating myself to some perspective and peace of mind.

It’s so easy to make excuses. There are always going to be other things. Yeah, there are times that are busier and more hectic than others,  and for me the hardest part about leaving my desk and being active is the actual getting up part. Once I force myself to move, I’m not kidding when I say the hardest part is over. It’s not long before I’m walking out of yoga practice feeling tired (the good kind), relaxed, and in a better mood.

Even if I don’t have time to go to yoga, I’m going to try something new. I’m going to try to take at least five minutes every day to lay down, close my eyes, and reconnect. You should try too. Anyone can shut their eyes for five minutes, but yoga taught me the true meaning of disconnecting with the intention of recconnectinf. It’s a mindful practice that I think offers persecptive to people’s problems. “Taking five” helps remind me that the overwhelming and stressful times are only temporary, and the trick is putting yourself as top priority not only when your schedule is slower, but busy too.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.29.46 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.30.00 PM

 

 

Thoughts

