Oh, We’re Halfway There

Oh, oh! (Insert song lyric that rhymes with Journey’s “living on a prayer”)

That was cheesy. Sorry, not sorry.

After a few days to breathe from a tornado of tests and assignments, my first year in the Creative Communications program is finished. Only one more year to go.

Ever heard of the famous Nelson Mandela saying, “It always seems impossible until it’s done”?

I’m not sure if there are words to better describe the past year.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-28 at 9.52.54 PM

saved from chic-type.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beyond the early mornings, late nights, micro-managing eight classes, and building an intolerance to caffeine, I got to share the experience with some of the most like-minded, charismatic, creative people I’ve ever met.

I remember the first few weeks of classes back in September when my classmates and I were still strangers. Our instructors told us how integral the support system of a “CreComm family” (which we had yet to establish) would be to getting through the intense two-year program.

It only took a few weeks, but by October my class was inseparable and my classmates were my motivation during those moments when I stared at a blank Microsoft Word page and wondered, How on earth am I ever going to get this done?

 

IMG_1017

The OG section one

 

Somehow, those assignments — all of them — are stacked in the “Completed” pile.

The “To do” pile is empty.

A couple of months ago I wrote a blog post called Baby Steps about how good things take time, and how positive thinking is a continuous, conscious effort. I wrote about how it’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel in the thick of a difficult time like a breakup or an overwhelming load of work.

And then, as quickly as it took for the workload to pile on, the pile is now gone.

Now that the school year is done, the past eight months feel like they’ve passed by so quickly. Then I think about the friendships I’ve made, the skills I’m developing, and the comfort zone I’ve left — and I know those things took time, dedication, and commitment to happen. Last week I had the honour of receiving the award for First Year Print Ad of the Year. I had to face my fear of public speaking, but it was worth it because I am so lucky to work with such talented, creative people who push each other to do their best work.

IMG_2080

I might be taking a summer break from homework, but next week I get to go on a school trip to Chicago! I’m hopping on a Greyhound next Monday with a CreComm school group.  I can’t wait to explore the city. It’s been almost nine months since I’ve been able to fuel my love for travel.

I’ll be blogging next week about my Windy City adventures. Stay tuned.

 

Stay happy,

Lauren

 

 

Thoughts

