Local Love: Winnipeg’s Best Local Brands

Holistic Hollins

I love living local. It’s a little hard to do right now since I’m a full-time student who isn’t working, but I do where I can. I do my homework in coffee shops, I shop at the occasional pop-up shop, and I buy tickets to events that support local businesses and bands (as long as they fit my student budget).

Since I created Karma Cure, I’ve been fortunate enough to connect with some of Winnipeg’s best local brands, and even get to know a few of the innovative brains behind the businesses. Local brands might cost a few extra bucks, but there’s pay off in ways their corporate-chain competition will never be able to offer. You’re investing in the local economy, you can see exactly where the product is coming from, and oftentimes you’re supporting a person’s passion project.

Here are a few kick-ass local Winnipeg brands I hope you’ll love (I do!) Click on the links to learn more about them.

Fat Lye Soap Co. 

If you can believe it, this local brand of soap has only been around since last August. All natural and handmade, this is only soap I will go out of my way to get. My favourite bar is her new Green Almond.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.27.14 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.27.24 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.26.36 PM.png

Rogue Wood Supply

A local self-care supply brand doing it right. Vanessa’s crystals act as amulets that help guide you through important stages of your life. She also gives crystal readings — I’ve had two! Explore her crystal directory on her website, I’m sure there are some that align with you and give meaning to wherever you happen to be in life.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.32.55 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.32.31 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.35.38 PM.png

Brie’s Botanicals

I met Brie at a market at The Forks. I have a bottle of her yoga mat spray, and it’s nice knowing I’m using a product that’s local,  but also all natural, 100% vegan, ethically produced and sourced, cruelty free, and handcrafted. Get her products from local Winnipeg shops like  Radiance on Corydon, Vita Health, and Generation Green.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.39.34 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.45.05 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.46.01 PM.png

Sparkl +DOT

Sparkl + DOT started as a side project and is now selling in local shops like Broadway Florists . Stef, S+D’s creator has a natural knack for fashion, and it reflects in her handmade, custom jewelry creations.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.57.41 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.58.31 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 3.58.04 PM.png

Fools & Horses Coffee

I just so happen to be writing this blog post at the long wooden table featured in the first photo. My friends sometimes refer to me as the “homework snob” because I go out of my way to get work done in pretty spaces. Sorry not sorry guys, the homework grind isn’t so dreary when your inspiration is the space you’re sitting in! F & H has loads of natural sunlight and a simple and straightforward coffee menu. It’s also a great space for community events. I’ve attended after hours for music events like Stream WPG, and I felt like I was somewhere in NYC’s Greenwich Village —  a satisfying mix between trendy and culture.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 4.05.07 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 4.05.25 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-10 at 4.05.34 PM.png

Thoughts

